Mirai E No Melody

16 November, 2007

  Sora no fukasa ni tomadoi,
  Utsumuku watashi no koto wo,
  Yasashiku mimamotte kureta ne
 
Those are the opening lines of the verse from the first ending song of the anime series Da Capo, which is Mirai E No Melody, sung by CooRie. I suppose it was natural for me to like the song when I first heard it back then since in a way I liked the series.
 
  Kokoro no kakera atsumete,
  Sugu ni todoketaku naru yo,
  Afurete shimaisou fushigi ne
 
This song is quite a slow and lovely ballad which is easy on the ears. The mix of piano playing, synthesizers and a little sound effect makes it a nice song to hear. Okay, perhaps the song don’t stay slow all the way but it gradually picks up a little especially during the chorus. I like the second verse in which the singer sings to a piano solo in the background.
 
  Suzu no ne ga hibiku,
  Namikimichi futari aruita,
  Hitotsu ni naru kage,
  Ureshikutte yuugure mitsumeta
 
Even though I enjoy singing this song, there’s a problem which prevents me from singing it perfectly. Yup, it’s that long voice sustaining high pitched part which is the line just before the chorus and around the last line of the chorus itself. Usually I’m out of breath after crossing that part. I remember that I manage to negotiate that part successfully a handful of times and usually during my peak. But at other times, I flop big time. Talk about inconsistencies.
 
  Sakura no ame ga mau,
  Komorebi ni tsutsumare,
  Ima kono mune ni,
  Furitsumoru setsunasa yo
 
Lyrics wise, this isn’t really a hard song to remember since it’s a love song. Well okay, not so simple since it involves sunsets, sakura cherry blossoms and the seasons. The karaoke version of the song itself has some background vocals so it isn’t that all bad. Actually, partly to ‘hide’ my awful voice ;P.
 
  Meguri yuku kisetsu to,
  Owaranai egao,
  Kitto mirai e no melody,
  Kanadete yukou
 
The tv animation for this song shows real time footage of some scenaries like the river and the sakura petals. Seems calming. The only anime animation is just a short appearance of the character Nemu, at the end of it. So they say practice makes perfect. But I’ve been singing this song for quite some time and I still haven’t quite perfected it yet. Oh yeah, nobody’s perfect. So why practice, right? Well, it’s more like because I love and enjoy singing this song.
 
  Hitomi tojite mo kimi ni aeru itsumo,
  Issho ni…

Leave a comment